The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Topic:  12 string C6th
Bobby Lee

Cloverdale, California, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jan 2003 11:31 am    

I dropped off my antique Sierra Olympic S-12 at Tom Bradshaw's yesterday to have it switched to C6th. I bent my brain for quite a while trying to figure the best way to expand C6th to 12 strings. I finally decided to just add two D strings inline:
G

E
D
C
A
G
E
D
C
A
F
C
I know it messes up the "stummability" of the C6th, but I play with four picks and I'm comfortable with skip grips. I've been playing D6th with a middle E for a few months now and it comes naturally to me.

The pedals and knee levers on this new C6th will be very close to the "standard" C6th setup. Comments?

------------------
Bobby Lee - email: quasar@b0b.com - gigs - CDs
Sierra Session 12 (E9), Williams 400X (Emaj9, D6), Sierra Olympic 12 (F Diatonic), Sierra Laptop 8 (D13), Fender Stringmaster (E13, A6), Roland Handsonic

Jim Smith

Midlothian, TX, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jan 2003 11:43 am    

You may want the high D as your first string instead. I think it was on the "Live In Denver" CD that Buddy Emmons demonstrates his high D string. It gets used a lot like the high F# string on E9 which would also be in the way if it was between the G# and E. A lot of licks and rolls would be harder to play that way also.

James Winwood

New York, New York
Post  Posted 2 Jan 2003 12:01 pm    

Bobby,
I recommend a low and high B and a middle D,
drop the low C (with D on top).
I feel this to be a very effective lead playing/jazz tuning (for me at least). Tight voicings and lots of possible dissonance. Modern jazz chord voicings. Scalar based.
The lower half is identical to the top half, save the middle G string and I have that F on a pedal
Lines you up in F lydian.

[This message was edited by James Winwood on 02 January 2003 at 12:06 PM.]

Earnest Bovine

Los Angeles CA USA