The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Clinesmith 8 string Joaquin model lap steel on order
Scott Swenson

NE Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2014 2:34 pm    

After copious amounts of research here and on the web, I decided to pull the trigger & I ordered up a Clinesmith 8 string Joaquin Model lap steel from Todd.
I'm new to playing lap steel, but I've been playing regular 6 string guitar since 1968. At 58 years old, I decided to go ahead & dive into something I've wanted to do for a long time, since I've been a fan of lap steel for what seems like forever. I joined the forum, & have been trying to soak up all that I can until the Clinesmith is completed.

I'd like to extend my appreciation to everyone who shares all of the great info found here, & I'd also like to send a shout out to Mike Neer, & all the other Clinesmith owners that have posted about their steels.
I was trying to pick between the Clinesmith & the Sierra lap steel, & you guys made it a no-brainer for which way I should go. Not that the Sierra isn't a great steel, but at the end of the day I just thought that a more traditional sounding lap steel was the path I should go down.

A big thanks to Todd Clinesmith as well, for being super patient with me and answering all my questions...

Needless to say, I'm stoked!!! Very Happy

Last edited by Scott Swenson on 15 Jan 2014 5:45 pm; edited 2 times in total

Jerome Hawkes

Fayetteville, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2014 3:26 pm    

Yeap - Mike has sold a bunch of us on those - that's where I first saw one. Ended up getting a S-8 and a few years later a T-8. Unfortunately had to sell the S-8 to finance the other, which in hindsight wasn't a good idea as dragging around a T-8 is a PITA...

Mark Eaton

Sonoma County in The Great State Of Northern California
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2014 3:41 pm