The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Where did "Slide" guitar come from ??
Eddie Cunningham

Massachusetts, USA
Post  Posted 30 Dec 2013 2:11 pm    

It kinda grinds my gut to hear a Hawaiian steel guitar called a "slide"!! I started playing in 1945 and in my old fashioned mind it's always been a Hawaiian steel guitar. Where and when did "slide" come into fashion ?? I don't really have an open mind but would like to know how this travesty came to be ??? the olde geezer AKA Eddie "C"

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 30 Dec 2013 2:13 pm    

I think it was the moment when people heard Duane Allman played Statesboro blues for the first time. Smile

Randy Reeves

LaCrosse, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 2 Jan 2014 4:31 pm    

the 60's and 70's are the culprits. Whoa!

John Mulligan

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 2 Jan 2014 4:44 pm    

Slide guitar has a long history. Son House employed a bottleneck,as did Johnny Shines and many other bluesmen from the 1920's on. Robert Johnson played slide on some songs. In the fifties, Muddy Waters and Elmore James became prominent electric slide-guitar players. In the sixties a few rock musicians took up electric slide playing, notably George Harrison and Lowell George. Ry Cooder came along and became regarded, over time, as the best and most authentic of the rock slide guitar players. Duane Allman developed an electric blues-rock style that enabled his virtuosity to soar.This type of slide playing has very little to do with Hawaiian lap steel, although lap steel players were developing their swing styles at the same time the bluesmen were shaping the slide guitar style. In a way, these are two divergent paths of the music. I think the real root of all the blues-rock slide stylists is Elmore James, who popularized the Robert Johnson song "Dust My Broom," which is still played today by the popular rock band ZZ Top.