The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Help!...Tuning issue
Terry Edwards

Florida... livin' on spongecake...
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2002 2:23 pm    

I'm still relatively new to steel guitar (I've been saying that for 2 years now)! I always tune my guitar using the handy chart that Jeff Newman publishes where you purposely tune strings high or low so many cents. Jeff says don't ask why - it's too complicated to explain- just accept it!

OK. I recorded some steel at a studio and we decided to try recording the steel direct through the board using some compression otherwise dry. When we played it back it sounded way out of tune! As a matter of fact it was very hard for me to play when I went direct because I seemed to be chasing the bar trying to keep everything in tune. When I record with my Session 1000 I don't have this problem!

Is it me or is there some kind of science behind this that I'm missing?

Thanks,

Terry

------------------
Terry Edwards .... steel dreamin'

Larry Bell

Englewood, Florida
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2002 2:54 pm    

It's art more than science, Terry, but I doubt it was related to going direct to the board. The studio is one BIG MAGNIFYING GLASS and every little transgression is etched in stone. When you play live it's easy to forgive yourself those little problems, but, on tape, they will live forever to haunt you. I have my share, believe me. I have a hard time listening to most of the stuff I've recorded. You must be your own harshest critic.

If you tune to the chart and sound in tune then play back and sound out of tune, something must've happened between the time you tuned and when you recorded. The bigger the string the more expansion/contraction due to heating/cooling will occur. The 5th and 6th (if plain) on E9 are the biggest offenders. Tune your 5th or 6th straight up to the tuner, then run your thumb and forefinger up and down the string two or three times and check the tuner.