The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  bottleneck slide guitar telecaster questions
Ben Godard

Jamesville NC
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 11:22 am    

I am just starting to learn to play bottleneck slide on my telecaster. I was wondering what string guages most people use. I want to be able to still be able to play with the fingers as well so i dont want my action too high, but I need it high enough to use the slide.

Right now, I am trying .011 guage strings and I raised the action some. should I go with a higher guage string. I'm up for any suggestions

Bruce Terrell

Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 12:22 pm    

You'll need to change your bridge setup considerably. A Tele has a curved neck and the bridge is set up to capture that. For bottleneck, you'll need to raise the action and make sure the strings are lined up in a flat plane across. Regular lights (.10) or mediums (.11) are fine but you probably would get better tone the thicker the strings.

Marc Jenkins

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 12:56 pm    

Depends on the tuning, really! I recently played a couple gigs in open E, and found that Derek Trucks' string guages worked well on an SG: 46, 36, 26, 17, 14, 11.

Cliff Kane

the late great golden state
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 1:03 pm    

I use 11's. I sometimes tune own to a G tuning or a D tuning, but mostly I play slide in standard tuning as there is a major triad and a minor triad.

Robert Jenkins

Massachusetts, USA
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 1:26 pm    

11s on a fender are nice and tight. They can be dropped down to D or G without getting too floppy for slide.

Ben Godard

Jamesville NC
Post  Posted 8 Oct 2011 2:42 pm