The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Pedal Steel Guitars: Closet or Craigslist?
Gordon Hartin

Durham, NC
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2011 2:51 pm    

I grew up around vintage guitars. At the time, they were not really considered vintage, just the guitars my dad has. 60 Les Paul Custom, 63 Strat, 67 Tele, 47 Martin...These were the guitars my dad gigged with, and they were around the house. So I played them, friends played them, they were just the guitars in the living room. At the time we all would have rather had a Kramer with a skull on it with a floyd rose...times change.

One thing my dad told me, and still does is hold on to your gear. I started playing steel in 2000, I had a GFI student for 4 months then traded it for a 75 sho-bud pro 3, still have it , then in 2005 got a 81 super pro, have it also. Both great steels, and really it probably took me a few years until I could even tell the difference in a steels playability. Currently both of these steels now sit in their cases, I never took interest in C6th, they are heavy, and have a couple Rains SD10s now.

So, after reading the forum for a few years, there are not many steels that surpass the price of a new steel compared to guitars. A 2011 D28 Martin is way cheaper than 1960 D28 Martin. Bigsby's seem to be the vintage exception, and for modern steels Franklin's usually sell more than their original price.

Do you think there will be a vintage steel market in 20 years, or is steel so much of a niche instrument that the value is more nostalgia for most of us.

Gordon Hartin

Dave Grafe

Hudson River Valley NY
Post  Posted 11 Jul 2011 3:59 pm    

So spraketh Slim Lovin':

"There will always be someone playing the vintage ShoBud and Emmons Push-Pull guitars. There will be other sounds, other mechanisms, all of them "superior" in some way, but somebody is always gonna want to stick with the axe that has a history of making great music when it is time to play..."