The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  String 3 G# keeps breaking!! Please help.
Clinton Kraus

Victoria, Australia
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2010 7:25 pm    

I am new to Pedal steel playing and have had the addiction for about 2 years now.
I have an 1980s ish Emmons P/P S10 and I love it like I love my wife and my dogs, BUT every time I change strings I snap the 3rd string G#.
I use the Buddy Emmons S.I.T. strings 38W, 34W, 30W, 26W, 22, 18, 14, 11, 15, 12. Each packet comes with a spare 11 G# string but should come with 10 extras.
What am I doing wrong?????
I live in Melbourne Australia and having a Push/Pull does not help as you are completely on your own with any mechanical problems.
Can somebody please tell me what I can do to fix this? I love this instrument, but it doesn't love me.

Bobby Boggs

Upstate SC.
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2010 7:52 pm    

I switched to Jagwires about 3 years ago.I haven't broke a string since. I've never filed the changer.I don't wrap more string around the tuning key than it takes to comfortably install the string. Almost never change strings.Most of my gigging guitars are 20 years old or older. Yeah I break a lotta rules. But you ask. And that's what works for me.
bb

Tony Prior

Charlotte NC
Post  Posted 14 Jul 2010 12:54 am    

Well certainly Jagwires are good strings but for decades Steel players tuned the '11' ( G #) to pitch before Jagwires even hit the market.

Some typical issues:

are you tuned to 440 ?

Is there a burr on the bridge, it is a 30 year old guitar. Use a piece of cotton or soft cloth across the bridge to check for burrs. 30 years can wear down a bridge and cause a burr for sure. Do not assume there is no burr or defect in the bridge.

Are you winding too fast,?

Where is the string breaking, at the tuning peg or at the ball end ?

IS the B Pedal tuned to the accurate pull ?

Is the string breaking when tuned to natural pitch or with the B pedal pressed ?