The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Wrong Key (Chords)
Justin B. French

Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2010 3:37 pm    

I have been using BIAB for a few years and suddenly today I have a Key problem. The chords don't match the key I have chosen in the key signature box. The key is actually 3 tones down from what I choose. For instance if I select the key of F then the chords are all for the key of D. Any ideas as to what the problem might be? Thanks, Justin Crying or Very sad
DigiTech RP-100,
Peterson VS-II

Andy Sandoval

Bakersfield, California, USA
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2010 6:02 pm    

Justin, this is an easy fix. click on the key menu button and choose the correct key for the chords than are shown, then when the next window pops and asks "Ok to transpose worksheet" choose no. this will change the key signature without changing the chords. Now you should have the right key with the right chords. Smile

Justin B. French

Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2010 7:24 pm     Wrong Key (Chords)

I thought that might solve it. I got the Key and the chords together but when it plays it is still 3 tones from where it should be. The song should be in G, the chords are in E, I changed the Key to E so the Key and chords are both in E. When it plays it plays in G. I changed the Key to G and everything changed to G but it plays in Bb, 3 tones above G.
I have no idea what to do except reload BIAB. I hate to do that because of all the files I have in it.
Thanks, Jud

Papa Joe Pollick

Swanton, Ohio
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2010 7:46 pm    

Justin,try going to options,then return to factory settings..This usally fixes most problems.If that doesn't work contact pg music..They always help.

Andy Sandoval

Post  Posted 21 Mar 2010 7:48 pm