The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  BIAB versus Fender G-DEC 30 for practicing/backing
Tim Herbert

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 5 Aug 2009 1:05 pm    

Hi guys. I have no experience with either BIAB or Fender G-DEC 30 amps, but I am looking for something to provide rhythms and chord changes for me to practice behind, and those two seem like possible competitors, that cost relatively the same. I'm computer-savvy, but I don't want to "waste" a lot of time setting up whichever tool I'm going to use, because I don't have enough practice time available as it is. I don't anticipate using whichever tool I choose for building tracks or recording (but you never know) - I'm a newbie player and just want to get a rhythm section behind me at this point. Make sense? I'm looking for pluses/minuses to either option, and suggestions for other products or techniques I might have overlooked that have helped you progress more rapidly as a plyaer. As always, thanks for your help! Tim

Andy Sandoval

Bakersfield, California, USA
Post  Posted 5 Aug 2009 3:04 pm    

Not that familar with the Fender G-DEC 30 but I can say that with BIAB you can enter a chord progression or song to jam with then choose from hundreds of rhythms. Then you can change tempo in seconds and even loop a chord section to practice a certain part. You can change keys very easily and mute instruments you don't want in the rhythm track. BIAB is a very versatile tool to practice with.

Rick Campbell

Sneedville, TN, USA
Post  Posted 5 Aug 2009 3:05 pm    

Go with BIAB. It's easy. No comparison to the Fender Amp with some preset rhythms. I never used one, but what I read about it, it's not even in the same category as BIAB.

Robert Tripp

Mesa, Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 5 Aug 2009 4:38 pm    

Most of us probably haven't tried the fender amp in question, but if you are looking for a practice amp anyway, it may be a good one to have.