The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New guy here- Which steel to buy??
Scott Redding

Ohio, USA
Post  Posted 30 Apr 2009 10:41 am    

Hey Everyone,
I'm a newbie here- and new to pedal steel- I've been playing lap steel for a few years and I'm almost ready to make the jump, financially that is.

I've played 6 stringers in fairly standard tunings- E, D, so I'm not that well versed in the other tunings yet. Should I jump into a 10 or 12 string? What tuning is the best overall or best to start on? I DO know I want a quality steel- I do NOT want a beginner, unless its a quality unit- I do play live and will be using it almost immediately- I know I have a lot to learn, but I figure I might as well jump in head first! I am not, however, ready to spend $2k on a pedal- I'd appreciate ANY information on what you think I should start on- specifially, makes and models, how many strings, how many foot and knee levers should be on the models, which tuning is going to be the most beneficial for me (I play more of a bluesy, country rock style) and I'd like to limit my purchase to $1500 tops- I'd MUCH rather get into something nice around $1K, if that's even possible.

THANK YOU!!!

Steve English

Baja, Arizona
Post  Posted 30 Apr 2009 1:36 pm    

Buy this one:

http://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=144813

Dwight Lewis

Huntsville, Alabama
Post  Posted 30 Apr 2009 11:23 pm     New Pedal Steel

Scott check your mail.

Dwight ijaash@yahoo.com

Scott Redding

Ohio, USA
Post  Posted 1 May 2009 6:20 am    

Hey guys- thank you for the replies so far! Keep 'em coming- I am ready to buy something- but I really need to see what's out there before I make the "jump", if you know what I mean. I want to get something that I can grow into, but not something too extravagant.
THANKS!!! I like this place!!

Brick Spieth

San Jose, California, USA
Post  Posted 1 May 2009 3:17 pm