The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What do you do for a living?
Austin Tripp

Nashville TN
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:24 pm    

I dont know how to ask this any other way but,, for those of you who are not playing music professionally,, what is your career? I am going to college (one day) and becoming a welding engineer, the only problem is, I am scared of the loud noises,, because it might hurt my "music" ear. Also I dont want my fingers or "anything" else cut off Shocked But that is going to be my career. Whats yours?

Dick Wood

Springtown Texas, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:26 pm    

I am a Sheriff's Deputy.

Dave Zirbel

Sebastopol, CA USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:40 pm    

I work in the wine label printing industry as a digital prepress operator. Sitting at a computer desk all day doesn't make me feel good but I am counting my blessings that I have a decent job and a career.

On the weekends I'm a..... you guessed it, a weekend warrior musician! Very Happy

Bryan Knox

Gardendale, Alabama...Ya'll come
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 7:42 pm    

I am a professional auctioneer, specializing in real estate and automobiles.

www.jpking.com

1976 MSA D-10 8+4, Mullen D10 8+4, G&L Skyhawk, Fender '52RI Telecaster, Eastman MD 615 lefty mandolin, Fender DPC750 w/Tubefex, Custom Twin Tweed Cabs w/ Peavey 1504's, 70's Fender Super Reverb, Martin D28-L.

Last edited by Bryan Knox on 1 Jun 2010 4:44 pm; edited 1 time in total

Farris Currie

Ona, Florida, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2008 8:02 pm    

AUSTIN,

i am 67 now, and started my own country machine shop in 1972.

Always think before doing something stupid!!!!!!!!

Yes, i've hit my hands and fingers, and pinched fingers good. but always think!!!!!

Had a grown man working for me held a 3" pc of tubeing in his fingers, tryed to drill a hole thru one end, drill press beat 2 fingers off. '

always clamp or put a pc. in a vise ect.