The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Kevlar
Rick Hulett

Hood River, OR
Post  Posted 24 Jun 2008 9:53 am    

Just wondering if any builders have ever experimented with Kevlar. I'm not a material scientist, but from what I understand Kevlar is a very stiff, yet light material. I'm not sure what the tone would be like, but it seems like it might cure cabinet drop. How about making the pedal rack, levers and legs out of kevlar? It seems like you might could end up with a very light guitar. Just speculating, tell me what's wrong with it.

Rick

Stu Schulman

Ulster Park New Yawk (deceased)
Post  Posted 24 Jun 2008 10:08 am    

Hey Rick,I went to a NAMM show once and they had a snare drum head made out of Kevlar and it had a 2" hole in it and it still worked,Strong stuff.
Steeltronics Z-pickup,Desert Rose S-10 4+5,Desert Rose Keyless S-10 3+5... Mullen G2 S-10 3+5,Telonics 206 pickups,Telonics volume pedal.,Blanton SD -10,Emmons GS_10...Zirctone bar,Bill Groner Bar...any amp that isn't broken.Steel Seat.Com seats...Licking paint chips off of Chinese Toys since 1952.

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 24 Jun 2008 12:18 pm     Re: Kevlar

Rick Hulett wrote:
Just wondering if any builders have ever experimented with Kevlar. I'm not a material scientist, but from what I understand Kevlar is a very stiff, yet light material. I'm not sure what the tone would be like, but it seems like it might cure cabinet drop. How about making the pedal rack, levers and legs out of kevlar? It seems like you might could end up with a very light guitar. Just speculating, tell me what's wrong with it.

Rick

MSA uses carbon fiber, which is a somewhat similar material. Kevlar is tougher and slightly lighter, but the carbon fiber is more rigid and resonant, and thus it's probably a better choice for our application.

Incidentally, the MSA Millennium does use carbon fiber for the levers, legs, and the pedal board!

Lavelle Pierce

huntsvile,ar 72740