The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New to lap steel
Dave Jetson

Victoria, Australia
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2007 8:21 pm    

Well, I've played regular guitar for many years, and I've played bottleneck for a while now too, in G and D tunings, and after admiring steel guitars from afar I've bought a cheap one (two 6-string necks) and I'm just starting to teach myself C6 tuning.

I'm loving it, but I'm a bit overwhelmed, too. It's a whole new world for me to explore.

I come from a background of "art" music - or "noise" if you prefer - and I'm a rock musician, basically, but my tastes are very wide and I'm pretty familiar with the blues and folk side of things. Funny how everybody seems to get to like country music as they get older, if they had any taste to begin with. There's a kind of spiritual, angelic sound to the steel guitar which has really started to capture my ears lately.

The reason I'm explaining where I'm coming from is that I'd appreciate some guidance here. In this field, I am a beginner.

So, what can you tell a beginner that likes the sounds he's hearing but has very limited knowledge of the world of lap steel? I have a lot of the Hank Williams material, and not much more to go on - so tell me who you think I should listen to and anything else you think I ought to know.

Randy Reeves

LaCrosse, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 14 Dec 2007 5:01 am    

welcome to lap steel. I too came from an upbringing of rock and noise. I discovered lap steel and rediscovered the music that was around when I was a kid.
listen to all the mid 20th century country and country swing you can. mix in blues and you should have plenty to keep you busy.
there are too many names. and so many tunings.

try out open G , D, C6.
there are many tab offers if you do a search on this site. or just ask and many will show them to you.