The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Band in a Box ?
Billy McCombs

Bakersfield California, USA
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2007 1:42 pm    

Im new to BB and when I record with a track and try to burn to a CD I only get my steel track recorded. Im useing a ADS instant music sound card to play my steel thru. would appreciate some help and please try to keep it where a average Joe can understand Very Happy
78 Emmons PP,Great tone.82 Emmons SKH #56

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2007 2:40 pm    

You would need a full duplex sound card and have the "what you hear" (what's playing on the PC speakers)or also referred to as "system mixer" option in order to record both the BIAB generated audio and a sound card input to a CD (if you can even do that).

What would be more realistic is to record the "what you hear" sounds to the hard drive first as a wav file and then burn the CD from the wav file. Burning directly to a PC's CD is a bad idea as you can't get separate tracks for different songs and if something goes wrong during the recording the CD is a "coaster" and whatever you've done is gone and you will have to start over.

Any type of audio that you input (or generate on the PC that you record) for recording such as an input from an external tape recorder should be first "recorded" to the hard drive with each song separately recorded as a wav file. Once you get what you want on the PC you can then make (burn) an audio CD with the songs. Or if you want MP3 song files you can convert the wav files to MP3 (do not record as MP3 first and then convert to wav as an MP3 is something less than full fidelity and if you convert an MP3 to wav you will not regain the full fidelity).

Billy McCombs

Post  Posted 18 Nov 2007 3:30 pm     BinBox

Hi Jack, I did the Wave file and it did record the steel but no sound track. Also when I go to BB volume control it says I have a problem with my sound hardware? Billy

Al Marcus