The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Anyone use an IVL Steelrider system?
T. C. Furlong

Lake County, Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 6 Nov 2007 8:11 am    

I am curious about who might be using an IVL Steelrider. I did a forum search and read that they were delicate and had some reliability issues.

Also, if anyone has another MIDI system that they like, I'd be intereted in learning about that as well.

Thanks in advance for any info.

TC

Jim Palenscar

Oceanside, Calif, USA
Post  Posted 6 Nov 2007 8:27 am    

I have one- although I've not used it in a number of years- it was reliable but didn't track as quickly as I'd like. I found it very useful for string pads and horns.

Tommy Allison

Transfer, Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 7 Nov 2007 2:57 pm    

I've been using a Steel Rider for 6-8 months. I haven't had any problems with it. I only use it on about 5 or 6 songs in a 4 hour gig.
Tommy

Scott Denniston

Hahns Peak, Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 7 Nov 2007 8:56 pm    

I'd sure like to try one but I've heard that they're not made anymore and are pretty hard to find.

Bruce Meyer

Thompson's Station, TN
Post  Posted 7 Nov 2007 9:39 pm    

I've used one for about 10 years or so hooked up to a Roland JV 1080. I used to play 10 to 20 times a year and never had any problem with the IVL. I hauled it everywhere, including back and forth to Tennessee about 20 times. The non-standard midi cables connecting the pickup to the IVL rack unit wore out. It took me a while, but I found a company in NY state that made replacements for around $30, but its been a long time since I've ordered any.