The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Trnsition or passing chords
Ashley D\'Silva

Perth , Australia
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2007 6:05 pm    

Although I have been playing for about 5 years I still have trouble understanding the basics behind playing / selecting to play passing chords.

Is there some basic understanding behind this? All I seem to play are notes around the chaords in the same bar position.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks from "Down Under in Perth"

Ashley

Joe Butcher

Dallas,Texas, USA
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2007 8:34 pm    

Heres a few ideas.

In a I to IV progression try these ideas.

play a V minor before you go to the IV

or

Play a 1 dom7 before going to the IV

or

if you are playing the 1 in an open position (ie: 3rd fret, key of G) try half-pedaling your "a" pedal just before going to the IV.

In a V to I progression try playing a II- before the V, or even before the 1.

Those are basic ideas but when you apply them you will realize you've heard them a million times.

Dave Mudgett

Central Pennsylvania and Gallatin, Tennessee
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2007 9:45 pm    

Well, it's a complex topic. The general idea is to create motion and interest in the chord progression - the passing chords need to create tension that naturally wants to resolve to the next chord in the progression.

One way to do this is to smoothly move one or more voices in a chord to create that tension. I really like this when I want a smooth melodic transition from one chord to the next.