The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  New to Home Recording Need Help
Jerry Virden

Des Moines, Iowa. USA
Post  Posted 24 Jul 2007 8:25 am    

I am new to home recording and have and would like some advice on getting started. The things I have so far ar Cubase S4 and a Tascam US-428 and of course a computer. What else do I need to get started with some basic recording to get my feet wet?

Thanks Jerry Sad

Randy Reeves

LaCrosse, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2007 3:37 am    

http://www.tweakheadz.com

check his site out. very informative.

Dave Potter

Texas
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2007 5:51 am     Re: New to Home Recording Need Help

Jerry Virden wrote:
The things I have so far ar Cubase S4 and a Tascam US-428 and of course a computer. What else do I need to get started with some basic recording to get my feet wet?
Maybe some monitor speakers, and a pre-amp for the hi-Z instrument(s)?

I had software incompatibility problems trying to use a Tascam 428 with Adobe Audition, which is my software of choice. It is probably more compatible with Cubase. But many of the 428 functions simply didn't work with Audition, and at times, it would refuse to do simple things such as go into record mode on a track. The novelty soon wore off, and I wound up selling it to Sam Ash Music used.

I only record myself at home, and only need to do one track at a time, so I don't need multiple channels, with hardware sliders for each one. My only requirement is good quality analog/digital conversion. I've been satisfied with the Edirol UA-25, which has good specs, hi- and low-Z inputs, and is easy to use. Another thing to like about it is it gets all its power from the PC USB connection; there's no wall-wart. It has no volume sliders, but I do all the mixing and effects in the software anyway.

Gary Shepherd

Fox, Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 25 Jul 2007 9:26 pm