The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  six stringers or no?
Nicholas Dedring

Beacon, New York, USA
Post  Posted 16 Jun 2003 2:28 pm    

I've been wondering about this, and now that I can ask a broader audience: how many of you folks played regular guitar first? Anyone else (besides me) out there go from playing another instrument (other than six string) to steel? From nothing to playing steel? Inquiring minds want to know...

Robert Thomas

Mehama, Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 16 Jun 2003 4:08 pm    

Hi Nicholas: I started on a 6 string Hawaiian guitar in 1947. In 1950 I went to a Gibson BR-9, 6 string electric with matching Amp. That's when I started playing for dances. From there I progressed to a double neck Fender Stringmaster and then from there to a Triple neck Fender Stringmaster. In 1971 I purchased new, a D-10, 8 + 4, Sho-bud Professional and proceeded to learn to play a pedal steel. I guess I was fortunate in that I had already been well grounded in the C and A tunings. I haven't had any problems with using either the E-9th or C-6th tuning. About 2 1/2 years ago I rid myself of the Sho-bud and went to a HWP Mullen D-10 8 + 4. I really like it very much and it is not so heavy to handle. At my age things have got to get lighter, including myself. I hope that gives you some info you might be interested in.

Michael Frede

Sonoita, AZ, USA
Post  Posted 16 Jun 2003 4:20 pm    

Six string at 7 years old,slide and lap steel at 14,PSG at 41.I am now 44.But hey,it just took me that long before I could afford one.

Ron Randall

Dallas, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 16 Jun 2003 4:34 pm    

Hello Nicholas,

I started on a Sears/Roebuck 6 string as a teenager in 1960. Laid up with a leg in traction for about a year. Had nothing else to do. Friend brought me a guitar and a Nick Manoloff book. I learned fast. Soon had a Les Paul, then traded for a Strat. Later played Precision Bass and Fender VI.