The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Who is this "Steel Guitar Person?"
Fred Shannon

Rocking "S" Ranch, Comancheria, Texas, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 21 Aug 2003 5:03 am    

In my years of belonging to this forum, I've seen many questions asked about
"---who is this steel player?" Here's one for you. How about a good educated guess of who this Steel Guitar Player is? Here's part of his/her resume:

I was an endorser and field consultant regarding the design and input of Fender steel guitar projects. Noel Boggs and myself gave our idea’s regarding design and feature’s of the Stringmaster and Pedal 1000 steel guitars.

Steve Scholes, then head of A&R at RCA Victor records appointed me studio steel guitarist, which was in 1951.

Some of my recording credits are with:

Elton Britt and Rosalie Allen
Texas Jim Robertson
Wilf Carter (Montana Slim)
Homer Haynes and Jethro Burns
Chet Atkins
Guy Mitchell
Perry Como
Fontaine Sisters
Theresa Brewer
Johnny Ray
Jimmy Dale
Julia Steele and members of Count Basie's orchestra under the direction of Sammy Benskin (Basie's arranger.)
Mort Lindsay (former musical director for Judy Garland and Merv Griffin)
Vaughn Monroe
McGuire Sisters.
Tony Mottola
Bucky Pizzarelli
Don Arnone
Herb Greene
Mitchell Ayres and his Orchestra "Musical Director for Perry Como.
Toots Theilman and his group.
Ken Griffin & Tony Mottola

Some of my Television credits include working with:

Perry Como TV show
Ken Murray TV show
Arthur Godfrey TV show
Milton Berle TV Show
Sid Caeser and Imogene Coco TV (Show of Shows)
Ed Sullivan TV show
Rosalie Allen & Elton Britt TV show "Prairie Stars" three days weekly.
Ken Carson (formerly of the Sons Of The Pioneers) weekly TV show.
Merv Griffin TV show with Mort Lindsay and his Orchestra
George Skinner TV show as a guest appearance, this followed the Godfrey appearance.

Some of my personal music achievements: