The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Are Musicians Well Known? Check out this surve
Eddie Malray

South Fulton, Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 16 May 2003 5:33 pm    

Hi Guys and Gals: I decided to do a little survey to see if Country Music fan knew much about the great musicians in the music business. I work for The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co. in Union City, Tn. There are about 3000 people working there. I am a Maintainence Mechanic, so I get to talk to a lot of people during the day. Heres what I did. I made a list of what I thought to be some of the best and well known singers and a list of what I felt are some of the best musicians. I ask the first 30 peaple i came to if they knew these people and what they did.(excuse typo. it was 50) First the singers and the no. of people who knew them: Reba McIntyre 50----Merle Haggard 46-- Patsy Cline 48--Alan Jackson 50--George Strait 50--Loretta Lynn--50 Ray Price 39-- Connie Smith 36--Jenie Sealey 33 Mell Tillis 40--Pam Tillis 42. I won't list the rest but you get the picture. NOW the Musicians: Hall Rugg 0--Mark O'conner 0--Brent Mason 0--Paul Franklin 0--"Hoot" Hester 0--Steve Gibson 0-- Jerry Douglas 0-- Leon Rhodes 0-- Jimmie Capps 0-- Bobbe Seymour 0-- Buddy Emmons 0-- John Hughey 0-- and the remaining names on the list were the same 0. People did ask who these people were and when I explained that they were the ones that appeared on the records and TV shows that play all the pretty music that made all the people you know Famous. A lot of people remarked that it was'nt fair that the musicians did'nt get any praise or reconition. I said, "you're right but thats just the way it is". I did come to realize one truth from this and that is, If you fell like you did'nt play your best sometimes, don't worry about it. Nobody knows who you are and probably don't care. I have always felt that pickers are only famous among other pickers---guess I was right.------------Eddie

Roy Ayres