The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  WHAT ELSE......do I need to make it all happen?
Ray Montee

Portland, Oregon (deceased)
Post  Posted 27 Nov 2001 4:13 pm    

Okay guys.... I have the guitars; the amps;
years of pickin' experience; a computer; and, finally, BAND in a BOX Version 10.

What else do I need in order to become an instrumental recording star? Come on now, I really need this kinda expertise since I'm not a rocket scientist. PLEEEEEEEZ!

I'm a waitin'!!!!

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 27 Nov 2001 5:25 pm    

Geez, Ray! There's only been two in the last decade, "Skinny G" and "Yo-Yo-Ma", (or is that "Yo-Momma"?) Anyhow, you gotta get one of them big Nashburg producer-fellas. They can make ANYONE a star!

Rob van Duuren

The Netherlands
Post  Posted 27 Nov 2001 5:35 pm    

If you'd tried to become a rocket scientist
for ten years, you probably would have been more succesfull. Instrumentals? For commercials perhaps, i don't know.....

chas smith

Encino, CA, USA
Post  Posted 27 Nov 2001 6:37 pm    

Quote:
What else do I need in order to become an instrumental recording star?
Why would you want to be one?
I think it would entail a willingness to subvert your talent and creativity and develop a bland, radio friendly, unobtrusive and prozac-inspired style of insipid pap. You might need a makeover to develop your 'look', depending on which market you intend to enter. You should also be doing a lot of situps to develop your stomach muscles, it will help your 'look' and give you the stamina for all the leg humping you will be doing.

Ray Montee

Post  Posted 27 Nov 2001 7:57 pm    

You see, there I went and done it agin! It has to be the aging factor. Would that be it B.Seymour?

I didn't state my case quite accurately. I didn't really mean I needed details on how to become a star, but RATHER......