The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Ricky Skaggs' "Highways and Heartaches"
Gerald Menke

Stormville NY, USA
Post  Posted 21 Nov 2001 9:36 am    

Hey all:
I am still rather new to the steel, and have a lot of catching up to do in terms of exploring all the important records. I bought a reissue of this 1982 Ricky Skaggs record yesterday and I just have to say that it knocked me out. How many other records from the '80s have performances by Bruce, Lloyd and Weldon? I am curious to know how this record was received in 1982; it's so pure and sincere compared to what was going on it the mainstream at that time. I'd love to hear what my colleagues on the Forum have to say about it, recommendations on other Skaggs records, where this one fits into his chronology, etc.
Thanks!

Jeff Lampert

queens, new york city
Post  Posted 21 Nov 2001 9:57 am    

One of the songs from the album is "Highway 40 Blues". This song has been discussed many times on the Forum. The steelwork on it was performed by Bruce Bouton, and the solo is generally considered to be one of the best examples of pedal steel playing ever recorded.

J Fletcher

London,Ont,Canada
Post  Posted 21 Nov 2001 10:19 am    

That record and the "Waiting for the sun to shine" record knocked me out when I heard them back in the mid 80's. They both cover similar musical territory, and contain no filler. Still get played at my house.
They are the essential Ricky Skaggs. IMHO of course.....Jerry

Alan Michael

Winston-Salem North Carolina U.S.A.
Post  Posted 21 Nov 2001 11:37 am