The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  No Volume Pedal - A Valid Choice?
Andy Volk

Boston, MA
Post  Posted 5 Jul 2001 12:41 pm    

I've been playing steel for over ten years and have just never been able to get used to a volume pedal. I sold my vintage Bigsby pedal and never looked back. Chas Smith says Joaquin never used one. What other steel greats never used one. Who else on the forum doesn't use a pedal? Is it essential to use one? Am I missing something?

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 5 Jul 2001 1:40 pm    

What style do you play? Playing without a pedal is standard for most Hawaiian players, as well as Blues-type music and old Western-Swing tunes. On pedal steel, Sneaky Pete Kleinow seldom used one. But if you're playing E9th Country licks, it's a lot easier with a pedal, since most all Country PSG'ers use it to get maximum sustain.

In short, I think the music and your own style are the mandate here.

P.S. A lot of the older pedals (like Bigsby, and some Sho-Bud pedals) are quite high, and not comfortable for some players to use. Try something with a lower profile if you have the opportunity...it might make a difference!

Michael Holland

Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 5 Jul 2001 2:33 pm    

I can't imagine playing without one. As the notes sustain I can swell the volume and add vibrato. And the added volume brings in more level from my Fender SFX, which just fills the room. To me, that's the sound of the steel guitar. But I'm the one who said fingerpicks were mandatory and got flamed. So I'd say the only essentials are bars and strings.

------------------

Emmons Push Pull S10 | Peavey Session 400 | '52 Fender Lap Steel | Goodrich L120 & Matchbox

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 5 Jul 2001 2:38 pm