The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Practice time question?
Rick Garrett

Tyler, Texas
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2001 2:07 am    

I've noticed while practicing that if Im having a difficult time with a particular song or lick, if I walk away from the steel for awhile and then go back after a few minutes I seem to do better. This ever happen to some of you? I've also noticed that licks I couldnt hit cleanly last week are coming more easily now. Practice and a great teacher are helping me learn this complicated contraption and I'm enjoying it more each day. Thanks to all who have helped!

Rick

Dirk B

Harrisburg, MO, USA
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2001 4:30 am    

"if I walk away from the steel for awhile and then go back after a few minutes I seem to do better"

Minutes? Shoot, I might walk away from a lick for several months and come back sounding better. I've been working on the 4-wheel drive bridge for two years; pick it up, then put it down for awhile; it's finally starting to sound like something.

I have to adopt the mindset of a long distance runner when learning this instrument -- but, if something is not going right, put it away for awhile and practice something else, and let your unconscious do the work (but never stop practicing).

Paul Graupp

Macon Ga USA
Post  Posted 13 Jul 2001 7:33 am    

Once while I was in Germany, we were playing an October Fest job in town. I became thirsty and noticed that there were four or five glasses of beer setting by my 1000. It was garnering a lot of attention because I think it was the first one in Europe at the time.