The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Junior Brown question....
Dave Burr

League City, TX
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2001 11:48 am    

I'm intrigued by Junior's ability to evoke a pedal steel feel/sound from his "Guit Steel" while playing some of the more "classic" sounding numbers... such as "Holding Pattern" on "Guit With It" or "I Want To Hear It From You" on "Semi Crazy" or "Don't Sell the Farm" on "12 Shades of Brown". Does he use an alternate tuning to achieve some of what I hear or is it all God given ability and whole lot of bar work?

I'm relatively new to the intrument, so forgive me if I'm way off base here.

As a side note, I've noticed that Junior's new album "Mixed Bag", due to release July 30, contains a song that was co-written by himself and the Great Lloyd Green. It's called "Our First Bluebonnet Spring". I wonder if Lloyd will join him on the album? Hope so!

------------------
Dave Burr
Remington Sustainmaster S-10 w/pad 3x4

Ricky Davis

Bertram, Texas USA
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2001 12:35 pm    

Hey Dave what you are hearing on the CD's> Like Holding' pattern> is Junior's Pedal Steel pal.
When he plays those songs live that are on his CD, that has pedal steel on it> he emmulates it pretty good; but not quite. So when you hear Junior on his CD's and it sounds like a pedal steel> "than it is".
Ricky

Dave Burr

League City, TX
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2001 1:05 pm    

Thanks Ricky! I thought what I heard sounded an awful lot like the pedal steel... just had never heard anyone making reference to him playing one.

------------------
Dave Burr
Remington Sustainmaster S-10 w/pad 3x4

Paul Warnik

Illinois,USA
Post  Posted 3 Jul 2001 3:21 pm