The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Mounting 2 p/us on a Sierra?
Anders Brundell

Falun, Sweden
Post  Posted 3 May 2004 10:04 am    

Would it be a good idea to mill out a space for a new Trutone next to the original p/u on a keyless Sierra single 14? Or will that weaken the aluminum neck and worsen the cabinet drop? (It's not too bad now, but I don't want any more of it!)
I would like to be able to combine the two p/us for new tone blends. It's a pretty snotty guitar, as some of you might know.

Anders

Glenn Suchan

Austin, Texas
Post  Posted 3 May 2004 11:20 am    

Anders,

I believe the neck is wood which is mounted to the deck of the cabinet. Depending on the year of the guitar, I believe the wood is Baltic Birch.

Routing out a slot for a second pick-up shouldn't effect the integrity of the changer because it's not mounted on the neck. It's mounted through the deck.

I'm not an expert on isolating causes of cabinet drop, but I would venture a guess that the neck of the Sierra guitar won't effect it either way.

Keep on pickin'!
Glenn

Anders Brundell

Falun, Sweden
Post  Posted 4 May 2004 8:16 am    

Thanks, Glenn!
I think I dare to try a side by side arrangement after all. Not too close, however, since Jerry Wallace warnes that that might cause the two magnitic fields to go into each others and interfere.

Anders

Jerry Clardy

El Paso, Texas, USA * R.I.P.
Post  Posted 4 May 2004 8:57 am    

Anders,

Please let us know how this turns out.
Will you be using phase reversal, separate tone and volume with selector like a Gibson ES335 or two outputs through different amps or what?

Anders Brundell

Falun, Sweden
Post  Posted 4 May 2004 10:33 am    

I'll let you know, but it'll take a while to get it done. Spring has just arrived to Sweden, and my wife doesn't appreciate to slave single in the garden, when everything out there has to be done right now (or even better yesterday)!