The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fingerpicks and techniques thereof....
Todd Weger

Safety Harbor, FLAUSA
Post  Posted 30 Aug 2000 10:09 am    

I have been a guitarist for 25+ years, and have just recently taken up playing non-pedal steel a few months ago. I prefer to use a small heavy mandolin pick (some call 'em jazz picks) when playing my guitars. Because I have begun to incorporate the Stringmaster into our gigs, and like to add steel solos in the middle of tunes (while still wearing my guitar), I have opted to use the Jr. Brown technique of holding a flatpick between thumb and index finger, and putting the steel finger picks on my middle/ring fingers. I would like to learn to use the traditional thumbpick with index/middle fingerpicks for the steel, but I do not like it for guitar, and I want to be able to jump back and forth within a tune.

Does anyone else use the flatpick with middle/ring fingerpicks setup? Any tips you can give me? I know some will say, just bite the bullet, use the thumb/index/middle setup for both guitar and steel, and forget about it, but I'm hard-headed, and set in my ways. Plus, there are just some things I can do with a flatpick that I can't otherwise.

Thanks!
TJW

------------------
Todd James Weger/RD/RTD
www.franchise-yourself.com
Fender Stringmaster D-8 (E11, C6/A7)

Bob Kagy

Lafayette, CO USA
Post  Posted 30 Aug 2000 1:35 pm    

Todd, do you know of Junior Brown?

If not, he plays an instrument he calls the git-steel, a physical marriage of a 6 string fretted guitar and a lapsteel.

He switches back and forth on the fly. I've seen him live(not close up) and I'm pretty sure he uses a flatpick plus at least 1 fingerpick. He also sings & accompanies himself with solos and fills on each guitar.

If you get a chance to see or hear him (he's got a lot of CD's out in the Country genre), jump at it - he's really good. Unfortunately, he's not a forum participant.

Hope this helps, Bob

Todd Weger