The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Sho-Bud Pro II Tuning Advice
Ryan Olson

Nevada, USA
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2024 6:50 am    

Hi all.

I truly feel like a newbie writing this.

Recently, I've acquired a '74 Sho-Bud Pro II. It's gorgeous, holds tune, and plays like butter. Initially, I started playing on an MSA Sidekick. The tuning was straightforward: tune open strings with the keys, tune with pedals down and keys, then adjust using Allen wrenches. I seem to be a little overwhelmed with the Sho-Bud and its tuning, and I was just wondering if anyone could walk me through the proper way to tune this guitar.

What I believe is the proper way is:
1. Tune open strings with keys
2. Tune 5/10 with A/B down with keys; Tune 3/6 with A/B down with keys
3. Tune open with Allen wrench
4. Repeat for everything.

I haven't even gotten to the C6 neck and wouldn't know where to begin there.

It would be great if anyone would be willing to provide a listed guide, advice, or confirmation that what I'm doing is correct.

Thank you in advance,
Ryan

Don't limit your challenges, challenge your limits.
'73 MSA Sidekick 1x3
'74 Sho-Bud Pro II 5x8

Paul Wade

mundelein,ill
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2024 7:19 am    

https://hummingbirdmusicstudio.com/pedal-steel-tuning.php
here you go.

p.w

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2024 7:27 am    

The Sho-Bud Pro 2 should be tuned as follows. ALL open strings tuned with the tuning keys. ALL pedals and levers are tuned with the nuts in the right end plate (either nylon or metal depending on type of undercarriage). It is not tuned like the MSA you had. That was a pull release guitar based on your tuning steps description. The Pro 2 is an all pull guitar which is nothing like the pull release.

Michael Conway

Chicago, Illinois
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2024 2:43 pm     Pro II tuning

Hi Ryan,