The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Steel Scam
Jory Simmons

Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 24 Dec 2023 6:11 pm    

I am an administrator of “amp Settings and Scales “ on FB
A Guy named Chris Wansi scammed me out of $100 towards the show Bud super pro. I found the exact same photos of this Guitar on eBay.. at least I did not drive to Indiana to meet him and buy this guitar. I would’ve been sitting in a parking lot at a truckstop for a long time.

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 24 Dec 2023 7:31 pm    

So sorry. I always do a reverse google image search. Amazing who often this uncovers scams.

Quentin Hickey

Nova Scotia, Canada
Post  Posted 25 Dec 2023 4:54 am    

Sorry to hear you went through that, at least it was only 100 dollars and not the cost of a steel.

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 25 Dec 2023 9:17 am    

Bill McCloskey wrote:
So sorry. I always do a reverse google image search. Amazing who often this uncovers scams.

How is that done? Sounds like great advice.

Bill Duncan

Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 25 Dec 2023 9:19 am    

Sad. It is very hard (risky) to trust people.

Pete Burak

Portland, OR USA
Post  Posted 25 Dec 2023 10:16 am    

Richard Sinkler wrote:
Bill McCloskey wrote:

Richard,
There is an icon on the right side of the Google search box. If you hover over it it says "Search by Image". If you click on it it lets you upload an image.
FYI,
Pete

Jim Cooley

The 'Ville, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 26 Dec 2023 6:07 am    

Pete Burak wrote:
Richard Sinkler wrote:
Bill McCloskey wrote:

Richard,
There is an icon on the right side of the Google search box. If you hover over it it says "Search by Image". If you click on it it lets you upload an image.
FYI,
Pete

I have usually been able to click and drag the image from my desktop into the search box.

Jory Simmons

Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 28 Dec 2023 3:11 pm     Fake super pro