The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Starting on Lap Steel. Finger Problems.
Ted Duncan

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 26 Jul 2023 5:45 pm    

I started learning to play 6 and 12 string guitar back about 1962. At the time I wanted to play what we called "folk music", old timey country (Jimmy Rogers and etc), and stuff like Hank Snow, Jim Reeves and Eddie Arnold for vocal accompaniment. I took a couple lessons with a guy. He taught me basic chords and 3 or 4 finger rolls to do some finger picking. When I got to high school they needed a guitar player for the school Jazz Band, so I bought an electric, learned a bunch of chords and strummed my way through.

And that's pretty much where I stopped getting good. I did learn Travis picking and can do some chord melodies but never did learn to REALLY solo up the neck and can't do much more than noodle around once I get past the 5th fret. Yes, I can read music, but cannot translate it to the finger board.

Well now I'm 73. I bought all the parts to build a lap steel, but I am so damn horny to start playing I bought a cheap SX which should be here tomorrow.

The temptation to just learn a couple chords and noodle around is strong, but I REALLY REALLY want to learn to play this time. I still want to play pretty much the same stuff, with the addition of some Hawaiian stuff (I got addicted to some Doug Beaumier guy on YouTube) and maybe some 60's & 70's country rock.

Based on my 50 years of "experience" I don't think I need lessons ... yet. About a month ago I bought a book, "Basic C6th Nonpedal Lap Steel Method" by DeWitt Scott from Mel Bay. A lot of folks recommended it. I've read through the book about 4 times and now I'm going through it again, making notes and singing the exercises.

I did order The C6 series from GeorgeBoards which arrived today.