The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  1976 Marlen D10
Matt Safranek

Los Angeles
Post  Posted 12 Mar 2023 3:04 pm    

Hey Everyone, I'm new to pedal steel over here. I have this 1976 Marlen D10 for about 6 years now and am finally getting back into steel after a few-year hiatus. I was looking to see if anyone had any info on this particular steel or notes I should know about.

I have contemplated selling it for a more modern steel/single neck that would cut down on weight and possibly simplicity. At this point, I'm not sure what it's worth or if I have something pretty good for a beginner and should hang onto this instead of seeking something newer. Any advice would be great. Thank you!

[/img]

Richard Alderson

Illinois, USA
Post  Posted 12 Mar 2023 4:10 pm     Marlen D-10

Dear Matt - The answer really depends on what kind of music you play? I highly recommend the E9th tuning myself, its so versatile you can play Beethoven or you can play Branson Missouri. The E9th tuning is "Pedal Steel", about 80% of what you have probably heard on the radio over the years for country, rock, folk, and country rock.

So one big decision is do I play E9th or do I play C6th??

You do have a "complicated" set up for a beginner, but it looks like a great guitar - if its all in tune. You can start on that guitar, use the hardware you need, ignore the other pedals, and get started; All the while you can still keep an eye out for a single neck rig.