The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tapa Room Tapes (Expanded)
Nic Neufeld

Kansas City, Missouri
Post  Posted 19 Mar 2021 11:43 am    

Hey folks,

Long story short, when I started learning steel 4 years ago folks on here were good enough to point me in, well, what I consider a very good direction with players like Jules Ah See and the Tapa Room Tapes from the 1950s broadcasts from the Hawaiian Village Hotel, with Alfred Apaka and the Hawaiian Village Serenaders. I've listened to them so much I've almost internalized them, and learned so many of the songs over the years!

So bearing in mind that these are kind of a prized cultural artifact to me already, as a player in that style...I was in a lesson with Alan Akaka a couple weeks back and he mentioned a song from the Tapa Room Tapes, and I was thinking, that one wasn't on there....he ended up sharing them...he had copied them to tape from reel-to-reel copies at Benny Kalama's house many years ago, shared them to a few people and they escaped into the internet eventually. But the version that is out there is missing out on quite a few tracks! Also the version from Alan seems to have less incidence of the "sped up" effect from tape speed, sounds more natural.

Anyway, here you go. These are a great learning resource for anyone who loves that style of steel playing...Jules was a master, and the band was pretty solid too! Thanks to Alan these tapes didn't end up just degrading into dust eventually and being lost forever!
https://archive.org/details/TapaRoomTapesExpanded

Travis Brown

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 19 Mar 2021 1:09 pm    

Wow, THANKS!!!!

Ralph Czitrom

Ringwood, New Jersey
Post  Posted 19 Mar 2021 1:17 pm    

Outstanding! Thank you Nic and Alan.

Levi Gemmell

New Zealand
Post  Posted 19 Mar 2021 1:21 pm    

This is absolutely tremendous, Nic. Shocked Wonderful for this treasure of Alan's to be in the open for us all to enjoy. Thank you both.