The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Blocking
Bob Doran

Ames, Iowa, USA
Post  Posted 1 Dec 2006 2:28 pm    

I am not sure I am ever going to learn blocking properly.
To be honest, I think the problem is that, for me, the steel was so hard that I had to focus all my energy on a dozen other aspects, and let the blocking go early on.
I do think maybe it is coming now (correct blocking)
My purpose in posting is that I wonder if there isn't a little trick that would make it all of a sudden easy to do.
This happened to me with the banjo recently.
I have played the banjo for 35 years and mastered really everything about it except for one little problem. I could never play at the warp speed required of the banjo in some songs. Then about 3 months ago I started playing the strings with a feather touch and now, low and behold, I can play effortlessly at speed. And my playing sounds a lot better too.
In fact my wife actually complimented me for the first itme in 35 years the other day.
Talk about a metaphysical experience!
(This sounds like a good subject for another board- " my most severe critic is ?")
Anyway is there an easy way to make me a good blocker?
BOb

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 1 Dec 2006 2:48 pm    

Bob--you will get a bunch of responses, I expect. Here's mine. If you are not real familiar with a piano then this won't make a lot of sense but I used to play keys and I did a bunch of my own tech work on the piano so I can really relate to the mechanism. For palm blocking, picture the way the damper (side of hand) rests on the string until the moment that the hammer is activated (pick). The damper lifts from the string a split second before the hammer strikes the string and returns to mute the string as soon as the key is released. This was my 'voila' moment, seeing this analogy in my head.