The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tuning?
Jerry Delpaz

Dalton Georgia USA
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 6:34 pm    

I am a beginner.I have a steel guitar,but I don't know how to tune it,and am having a problem trying to figure it out.I am goint to buy a korg ca30 tuner wed,and I need some help on the best way to learn to tune a 10 string 3pedal 3knee lever steel.Thanks as always. Jerry

Michael Douchette

Gallatin, TN (deceased)
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 6:39 pm    

This always opens a p*ss fest... just tune it where it sounds good to you with the other guys you're playing with. One guy will tell you to tune flat, but it works for him, one guy will tell you to tune sharp, but it works for him... start at 440, and go from there.

------------------
Mikey D...

Bobby Lee

Cloverdale, California, USA
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 7:02 pm    

Tune it as indicated on this page.

The third string is the highest string. The first and second strings are both lower in pitch than the 3rd string. I know it sounds wacky, but there's a good reason for it. Trust us on that.

------------------
Bobby Lee (a.k.a. b0b) - email: quasar@b0b.com - gigs - CDs, Open Hearts
Williams D-12 E9, C6add9, Sierra Olympic S-12 (F Diatonic)
Sierra Laptop S-8 (E6add9), Fender Stringmaster D-8 (E13, C6 or A6) My Blog

Michael Douchette

Gallatin, TN (deceased)
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 7:30 pm    

b0b was, as usual, more helpful than I. I was thinking beyond the basic tuning configuration.

Way to go, b0b!

------------------
Mikey D...

Eric West

Portland, Oregon, USA, R.I.P.
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 7:44 pm    

The different "sharp or flat" things are set up by the people you play for as you get more famous. I'm just guessing..

Til then, tuning like Buddy Emmons, right exactly to what the tuner says is in tune should be good enough.

That's what I'm gonna do until Shania calls..

EJL

Twayn Williams

Portland, OR
Post  Posted 11 Sep 2006 8:58 pm