The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Pedal steel amp NOT PEAVEY?
Carl McLaughlin

St.Stephen,New Brunswick,Can
Post  Posted 25 May 2019 3:01 pm    

What amp other than a Peavey high priced one will work well with a pedal steel and not break the bank.As a beginner i will eventually step up to one of the Peaveys.
Now have a SX 6 string lap in G,.A Tele plus telecaster, Larrivee acoustic.Also have a Fender resonator guitar with new Quarterman cone and spider,and an Allan tailpiece.Playing through a Fender Super Champ XD,using a little delay on the amp and a Harmonix Holy Grail Echo pedal,set on Hall turned to about 1pm.Just got a Fender Dual 6 Stringmaster style. Bought a Yamaha FGX5 Recently and love it. Recently got a Sho-NUFF 6 string pedal steel in open G.Still learning.

Michael Deering

Arizona, USA
Post  Posted 25 May 2019 3:18 pm    

I just picked up a perfect Fender steel king off craigslist for $150.00! Not a mark on it and sounds great! I believe they were discontinued 10 years ago.

Benjamin Davidson

Post  Posted 25 May 2019 4:05 pm    

Starting out in steel I think there are plenty of low output amps that will do well for Pedal Steel Practice.

For solid state try to find one of the solid state Fender Princetons (DSL series if memory serves). Even a modeling amp like a Fender Mustang or a Boss Katana provide a good starting point.

A low output tube amp isn't too hard to find depending on your price point. I still practice on a Laney 15w when I need to be quieter, and still have a 3 band EQ and digital reverb onboard.

All depends on your budget and your desired tone.

Larry Dering

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 25 May 2019 5:13 pm