The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Players switching from D-10 to U-12
Bob Miano

Bergenfield, N.J. (home of "some" country music) - deceased
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2006 5:53 pm    

How many of you D-10 players have made the switch or have tried to make the switch to a U-12 ? I have been contemplating this for some time but was wondering what
roadblocks got in your way. Is it hard to get used to not having the same strings ?(For me it would be like trying to teach an old dog new tricks as I have been playing for 25+ years with a D-10)
Just wondering....
Thanks,
Bob Miano

Chris LeDrew

Canada
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2006 6:45 pm    

Here's a small thread:
http://steelguitarforum.com/Forum15/HTML/011338.html

I had both, and one thing I found difficult about the 12-string was getting used to the two strings below the 10th. If you're used to the chord grips on a 10-string, it will probably take a while to adjust. The 9th string as a B kind of screwed me up as well, although dropping it to D on a knee lever can produce some cool licks as well as doing its practical job. but then I'd have to drop it further down to the C# on another lever......ahhhh.

.....just my two cents. There are many Universal players here with way more experience than me. I traded mine a few months after getting it.

Billy Carr

Seminary, Mississippi, USA (deceased)
Post  Posted 27 Apr 2006 10:19 pm