The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Shubb tone bar
Luke Foo

California, USA
Post  Posted 22 Oct 2017 5:32 pm    

Hi All:

I am new to steel guitar, been at it for about 3 months now, and I am loving' it. I initially bought a Dunlop cylindrical stainless steel tone bar (919), but had difficulty handling it because of weight and shape. So I then got a Dunlop Long Dawg tone bar made of chromed brass (927). Although I like the feel of the 927 because it has a raised "handle" (sorry, I don't know the correct terminology), I much prefer the tone from the stainless steel 919.

Today I came across a Shubb tone bar with a raised handle that is made of stainless steel. Would this give me the equivalent tone of my Dunlop 919? Has anyone tried the Shubb? The price is right too. Here is the link: http://www.shubb.com/sp/index.html

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts. Thanks!

regards
Luke

John Culp

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 22 Oct 2017 6:15 pm    

Shubb has several different contoured bars. I have the Shubb-Pearse SP-1, which has a similar contour of the round bottom and nose to my large Dunlop bullet bar. It, like the Dunlop, is a rather long bar that works well on 8 strings. I find the contoured bar easier to play with, too. There are many far more experienced players on here who can advise you. Starting out, though, I had the same issues as you, and I do like the SP-1. It is made of chromed brass, not stainless steel.

Michael Maddex

Northern New Mexico, USA
Post  Posted 22 Oct 2017 7:34 pm    

I, too, like the Shubb-Pearse bars, especially the SP-1. The SP bars that I have are chromed brass, but I believe that Shubb went to stainless bars a few years ago. He felt that machining stainless was easier on the environment than machining and plating brass. You can check the website for the real thing and current product info.