The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  ZB Custom question
Jerry Dragon

Gate City Va.
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2017 8:32 pm    

I just piked up a ZB Custom D10. I am a novice and the only problem I am having getting it up and running so far is when I screw one of the back legs in and it bottoms out and the hole for the pedal bar does not align. The legs are number stamped so I know I have it in the right hole.
There is a heavy knurled section; is this just a grip to screw the leg in? Can the grip section be loosened to adjust the legs height which would also allow me to align it with the pedal bar?
It looks like at one time someone crossthreaded the leg and the first few threads are buggered up; probably causing a deformation in the I.D. thread housing preventing the leg from going just a bit more.
I am a machinist and can fix this problem but it would be so much easier if the legs adjusted. I tried loosening the knurled section by hand but had no luck. I didn't want to go at it with a pair of channel locks only to find out it doesn't loosen.
Another question, how much play should be in the knee levers before engagement? The RRL has a considerable amount of play before engagement.
Thanx

Last edited by Jerry Dragon on 20 Oct 2017 8:41 pm; edited 1 time in total

Jim Cohen

Philadelphia, PA
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2017 8:40 pm    

Yes, the grip section is designed to be loosened to allow for adjustment of the legs, including turning the narrower part so that the hole lines up where needed, as well as length/height.

Eric Dahlhoff

Point Arena, California
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2017 10:15 pm    

And the knee lever should only have a small amount of play before it engages.

Jerry Dragon

Gate City Va.
Post  Posted 21 Oct 2017 3:17 am