The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Advice on Selling Price For 1964 Emmons
Gary Morrison

Centennial, CO, USA
Post  Posted 17 Oct 2017 1:50 pm    

After nearly 50 years of owning this Emmons, I am putting it up for sale. I have no idea what to ask for it, and saw the post in the "For Sale" section that is was okay to ask for advice about a selling price. This is a one-of-a-kind guitar, to say the least! When Buddy moved into his next guitar from this one, Ron Lashley saved this guitar for me, as Ron was good friends with my dad. I received the guitar when I was 13 years old, and started my pedal steel lessons from Ron. See the fingerpicks on the undercarriage? They are not mine. They belonged to Buddy Emmons. They were placed there by Buddy, and NEVER removed. See ASK BUDDY, Finger Picks, 03/08/2002. The guitar has fortunately (or unfortunately?) spent most of it's life since about 1970 in the case. That's when I started playing Sho-Bud's for many years, and finally Carters.

I have been in poor health for some years now, and it is time for me to start doing something with some of my 70-80 steel guitars. I know that there are many Emmons experts on the Forum that I hope can give me some advice which will help me in asking a fair price for this guitar. I have many pictures; the guitar is in the same original condition as when Buddy Emmons played it in 1964.
I had an extended post about this guitar back in about 2003? with many other photos, including one with an advertisement in the 1966 Country Music Roundup Magazine showing Buddy seated at this guitar.
Thank your for your courtesy, time, and consideration.
Gary

Bobby Boggs

Upstate SC.
Post  Posted 17 Oct 2017 2:02 pm    

Interesting piece. Do you know the serial #? No knee levers? When was it changed to a Day set-up? Do the changer pillars lean to the left? I think many of us will be interested. Just need more info.

Gary Morrison

Centennial, CO, USA