The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Kemper Profiler pros + cons
Steven Cabral

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 16 Oct 2017 3:00 pm    

I'm thinking about getting a Profiler and I'm wondering what others have experienced such as if you have the 600 watt head , what do you think of the amp ? If not , what amps are you using ? What about speakers ? Being made overseas , have you had any support or service issues ? Any input on these or other related subjects would be appreciated . Thanks Steve

Scott Peacock

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 17 Oct 2017 4:10 pm    

I have the non-power amp Kemper and I go into a TC Furlong 1x12 powered cab and I love the sound of it. However I don't have any experience with the powered version of the Kemper to compare it to.

Steven Cabral

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2017 8:27 am    

tt

ajm

Los Angeles
Post  Posted 20 Oct 2017 10:10 am    

I have NO real experience with this amp, so you have been warned. ;>))
However, since this doesn't seem to be getting a lot of traffic, here goes.

You didn't say what you were going to use it with. Guitar? Steel? Both? More?

Repairs: Likely to be a PITA if you ever need it. It's probably not as simple as a PTP circuit, or even a standard PCB traditional amp.

Spare: If you can afford a second Kemper, please put me in your will. If not, it's a done deal that you need a spare for gigs. This is where a used Bandit/Mustang/fill in the blank will fit in nicely.

Speakers: I have started to hear that full range speakers are the way to go. However, that may not be practical for most guys. Most guys will use a standard cabinet of some sort. So, what kind? I don't know. You'll need to do some more research.

Sounds: I think it may be a slam dunk. If all goes well you will have a thousand times more "amps" than you ever dreamed, with effects to boot.