The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Peavey Nashville 112 users
Harrison Yount

Boerne, Texas
Post  Posted 28 Sep 2017 2:16 pm    

Hey y'all!

Harrison Yount here. Since I started playing PS I've been using a Peavey Session 400 and replaced the factory speaker with an Eminence EPS 15C last year. I've loved this amp and the tone that I've been able to find with it for a long time, but sadly it has been showing it's age and it's wear and tear from being on the road with me lately. I did some research and decided to try the Nashville 112. I've only had the amp out of the box for maybe 20 minutes and I'm already having some issues.

1.) I was well aware that switching from a 15" speaker to a 12" alone would drastically change my tone, but after reading reviews it didn't sound like this amp would be inferior to a 15". Unfortunately, it really is lacking in the low end department for me and doesn't quite pack the punch I was looking for. This is just a personal preference, but I wanted to include this in my first impressions.

2.) I'm getting a pretty bad rattle from what I believe is the reverb tank whenever I hit notes in the lower register as well as when I hit notes in the upper register. Have any of you experienced this type of problem?

3.) The tone is decent on the amp, but gets very shrill when I play up in Hughey land. I've read great things about the tone of this amp in reviews, but I wouldn't play anything past the 15th or maybe the 17th fret on this amp based on my experience so far.

4.) Lastly, when I plugged in my guitar I plugged it into the High Gain and got nothing. I'm thinking the High Gain is just defective on this particular amp because I've backlined with this amp on some of the late night shows I've played on and had no issues using the High Gain before. Has anyone else had this problem?