The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Universal Tuning - Split on 6th string
Jon Schimek

Lyons, Co - USA
Post  Posted 5 Sep 2017 10:15 am    

Hey Guys,

Acquired a Newman Coped e9/b16 U12 that I'm trying to understand a change on. There are a lot of folks on here that really see these things better than me so I'm hoping for some help.

Only string 6 has been tapped for a split screw. I'm fairly new to splits, but I'm wondering if this is a common split string in universal?

For string 6 it seems I've got the G# open, the A with pedal 2, the A# with Pedal 7, and the G with a LKV. The split currently seems to be with 7 and LKV giving me an A. So i'm assuming that this split gets me the B7 maybe a F#m.. Does anybody else have this change? How do you use it? I can't think of anything really better for it, can you?

I tried searching this, but I didn't get any hits... Sorry if this is a repeated topic and sorry for my lazy image editing below.

-Jon

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 5 Sep 2017 11:03 am    

The commonest split on the 6th string is between a lever which lowers it a whole tone to F# and the B pedal, the result being a G.

This is nothing to do with it being a uni - it's just as common on a straight E9.

Unis are great - welcome aboard!

Jon Schimek

Lyons, Co - USA
Post  Posted 5 Sep 2017 1:02 pm    

Hey Ian,

Thanks for the comment. I am a big fan of the F#->G# sound on E9, so I was pondering tweaking to get this change and using the split in that way. In my head this split is essentially getting you a minor third in the E9 Root Position, right?