The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Which current mfrs make keyless models (and why not more)?
Tony Palmer

St Augustine,FL
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2017 8:43 am    

So I've been playing my keyless Sierra for about 15 years and love it.
I'd like to buy another used one if I can find one, but willing to look at other mfrs.
All I know is Williams makes (made?) one. Any others?
And I'm curious why it never caught on. I find string changing and "micro" tuning to be very easy with keyless.

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 7 Aug 2017 10:23 am    

BMI does, Sierra is back in business, I think GFI does.
So does Excel.

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2017 7:14 am    

Williams makes great keyless steels. I like the GFI system because you can just reach up and tune it without a special wrench. I have an S-10 and a 12.

Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Webb, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

Tony Palmer

St Augustine,FL
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2017 9:54 am    

Re new Sierra, I have no idea when they will be available.
Re Williams vs GFI or others, I wouldn't have to use a wrench to tune. I'm used to the little turnscrews (see my photo). It's like using a micrometer!

Greg Cutshaw

Corry, PA, USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2017 10:19 am    

http://www.gregcutshaw.com/Williams%2012%20String%20Keyless/Williams%2012%20String%20Keyless.html

The excel tool stores right in the guitar!

http://www.gregcutshaw.com/Excel%2012%20String%20Keyless/Excel%2012%20String%20Keyless.html

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger

Roger Crawford

Griffin, GA USA
Post  Posted 8 Aug 2017 5:21 pm