The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Need Help Finding a Vintage Lap
Mark Helm

Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 23 Jul 2017 6:10 pm    

Hey, friends! I have been a guitarist since I was 14 years old. I'm 55 now and for the past year have been obsessed with lap steel since I picked up a 1962-4 Airline Rocket in near-mint shape at an estate sale.

The Airline is nice, but the Valco pickup-up that's in most vintage laps under $500 isn't very sweet sounding. I can't afford a $900-$2000 Gibson or anything with the Charlie Christian p/u.

I have been looking at a 50s Oahu Tonemaster with a P90 style p/u (I think), and the Gibson BR9, of which there seem to be many around $500...

I feel like there's some over-looked treasures I'm missing. Can you folks make some suggestions (my top budget...straining, would be $600) Shocked
Remington Steelmaster S8 w/ custom Steeltronics pickup. Vox MV-50 amplifier + an 1940's Oahu cab w/ 8" American Vintage speaker. J. Mascis Fender Squire Jazzmaster, Hofner Club bass, Ibanez AVN4-VMS Artwood Vintage Series Concert Size Acoustic Guitar. 1920s/30s Supertone Hawaiian-themed parlor guitar. Silvertone parlor guitar.

Larry Lenhart

Ponca City, Oklahoma
Post  Posted 23 Jul 2017 7:13 pm    

I think you have a lot of great advise about the vintage market and I think you should follow your heart on that...sorry if I kinda misled you...good luck in the SEARCH,,,that is a lot of fun I know ! Smile I would say to stick with forum members and even put a WTB ad...I have always found the forum to be a wonderful source of instruments and great people to deal with...they know their stuff as opposed to guitar music shops or others that happen to have a lap steel in their shop. Have you checked the listing on North County Steel Guitars...Jim always has a nice selection of steel guitars and he definately knows steels !