The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Another newbie here. Best way to start C6?
Will Slack

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2017 3:07 pm    

Hi there,
I've been reading this forum for weeks--so much good info here! In 2000 I attempted to take up pedal steel and was lucky enough to have 4 or 5 lessons with Charlie Norris at his shop. Not long after, I left for school and in the absence of a teacher I played my standard six string instead.

Well, I still love old country music and western swing. I have come to realize that most of the music I loved back when I attempted pedal steel was actually played on the lap steel. It's music I'd still love to play. So I bought an 8 string and would love to tackle C6 and to learn some hawaiian music as well as old country. I've already learned a lot from the forum and will order some of the recommended books right away.

One thing I'm not sure of is where to start with strings. I bought an 8 string since many recommend it for C6 and say you can always take two strings off to begin. It seems that most beginner books assume you are beginning with 6 strings. So what do you recommend? It seems i could take off the 1st and 8th strings, or the 7th and 8th, and learn on 6 strings at first. I worry that adding the strings later will be too confusing though. Does anyone think it's better to learn with all 8 strings on, even if I'm only playing 6 at first?

David Knutson

Cowichan Valley, Canada
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2017 4:44 pm    

Just my humble opinion here, Will, but if it was me I'd string it up with all 8 strings right from the get go. If you have a high "G" first string (in C6) you'll probably find it sneaking into your playing for some of the higher notes from the 6 string tuning. And if you tune the 8th string to "Bb" instead of "A", then you've got some nice fat 7th chords when you want them.

Brad Davis

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2017 5:41 pm