The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Bmi s-10 c pedal need help
Chris McGinnis

Mooresburg Tennessee, USA
Post  Posted 1 Jul 2017 5:32 pm    

New member here.have a question I have a Bmi s-10 I took in on a trade for a guitar amp.i cannot get the c pedal to raise the e to f# I have tried everything I can think of and no matter what the finger on the changer will move forward before it will get to the right pitch.i bought and installed new nylon tuning nuts as the old ones were fairly chewed up.it is set up standard Emmons on the pedals.the steel has a double lower double raise changer.i have switched the rods in the holes on the changer and on the crossbar and doesn't seem to make any difference also took a little out of the return spring on the changer and still didn't make a difference.this is the only change I cannot get to work.anybody that could give me some advice I would greatly appreciate it,I am fairly new at this only been playing steel for a very short time and am going to take some lessons and would like to be able to use this guitar to take the lessons as it is fairly light for a steel.thanks in advance for any help.chris

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2017 12:57 am    

BMI is a wonderful pro guitar, see if there is a stop anywhere that needs to be adjusted.... somewhere something is stopping the pull ....

Jason Lynch

Essex, United Kingdom
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2017 1:34 am    

back the nylon off completely, then in the cross bar, there's a screw. back that off and give yourself as much slack as you can. then adjust the nylon so its touching the changer finger and engage the pedal to see how close you are.
Damir, the BMI has no pedal or lever stops. you adjust the nylon for its maximum travel stop, then take up the slack before the nylon engages, an unusual system to be sure.

Damir Besic

Nashville,TN.
Post  Posted 2 Jul 2017 1:45 am