The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Lever tuning issues with my new Sho Bud LDG
Rick Heins

Phoenix, AZ
Post  Posted 15 Jun 2017 8:19 am    

Hey there, this is my first time posting on the Steel Forum but I've been a long time reader. The tabs and info have been invaluable!

I just bought a 1979 Sho Bud LDG from a very nice gentleman from this forum and the guitar looks and sounds great. However, the right levers were a little too close to my leg and I was pulling it out of tune in the resting position.

I decided to open up the levers a little so I could get my leg in there comfortably by loosening the small tilt screws and now the RKL won't intonate between the resting note and raising the F# and G# strings. Also, the RKR won't intonate when dropping the full tone on the D# string.

I know there is a way to adjust it properly but don't have experience doing so. I was hoping someone could help me with a setup suggestion or a link that could guide me through adjust the levers I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks for reading and i look forward to posting more!

Lane Gray

Topeka, KS
Post  Posted 15 Jun 2017 2:05 pm    

Won't intonate?
Describe what's happening better, please.
Some pictures might also be helpful.
There are many ways things can go pear-shaped.
Also, where in California are you? There are people around the state who could help you tout suite.

Craig A Davidson

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin USA
Post  Posted 15 Jun 2017 2:18 pm    

It sounds like the stops were/are against the levers themselves. Is that so? Or is there a separate braket the stops are hitting?

Rick Heins

Phoenix, AZ
Post  Posted 15 Jun 2017 2:36 pm    

Thanks for the response guys!