The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Transitioning from the bedroom to the bandstand
Tim Windsor

South Australia, Australia
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2017 5:39 am    

I've been playing steel for a few years now, but still regularly experience some challenges with live performance that I wonder if others can relate to, or may have some tips on how to overcome. The last couple of gigs I've played, I've dutifully put in a good amount of practice time, worked on trying to extend myself and develop some more interesting arrangements, and generally aimed to be (and felt) reasonably well prepared. Then on the day amid tangles of cables, uncertainties about volume and the various other complexities that can inevitably pop up in unfamiliar venues, I've started badly, dropped a few clangers, lost confidence, and reverted back to playing a small handful of safe but uninspired licks.

I imagine that playing out more regularly (for me it's probably about once a month) would make a big difference, but given that I don't currently have those opportunities, I wondered if anyone had any tips or ideas about practicing more effectively at home in preparation for gigs. I think one of my problems is transitioning from quiet practice (often with headphones) to the louder volumes needed for gigs and the subtle changes in volume pedal and pickng technique that seem to be needed, but can bring me unstuck. No doubt cranking my amp to gig levels when practicing would help, but that isn't really a viable option. Anyway, just thought I'd put this out there in case anyone has any suggestions for how to practice in ways to enhance performance readiness?

Charley Hill

The Dirty South
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2017 6:02 am    

Band in a Box can boost your confidence playing songs. BIAB makes you want to practice more. When I have asked the question, I get the same response: BIAB.

Good luck in your endeavors and happy practicing.

Charley

Bruce Bjork