The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Playing lead on a PSG verces playing lead on a reg guitar
Jerry Recktenwald

Louisville KY
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2017 2:35 pm    

I play reg guitar and play lead and rythem for years.I have played C6 lap steel for a few years [lm learning on my own using what I know playing reg guitar. I have been learning to play PSG for the past 3 months and I am trying to understand how to play lead on the PSG I fell like that if I learn how to play a simple song [ slow] like Amazing Grace on the PSG it will help me understand the what the notes on the strings in different places . I want get it in my head how to play lead on the PSG , then using what I know of playing reg guitar things will begin to click together [ upstairs] Maybe some of you guitar players could give me some insight to help me to understand the difference in playing lead.

Andy Frantz

Indiana, USA
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2017 6:39 pm    

I come from a similar background and am pretty new to the PSG, too. So, I can't tell you how the story ends, but I can tell you a couple things I found so far:

- Play PSG parts less frequently. Even if you're used to playing mostly lead on a 6 string, you can always play along at other times with some chords. You can do that on PSG, but if you listen to songs for examples, that's not really how it's done. Right now, practicing at home, I'm playing wayyy to much.

- I play to the changes a lot more. Playing 6 string, a lot of times you can get away with playing a major or minor pentatonic scale in the songs primary key over every chord in the song. I find I'm thinking of the specific chord when playing licks on the PSG.

Igor Fiksman

Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 5 Apr 2017 6:40 pm