The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Two Amps One Speaker
Ollin Landers

Willow Springs, NC
Post  Posted 28 Mar 2017 4:08 am    

I have degenerative disc disease among other medical issues. Loading the car to go to the gig, unloading and setup, tear down and load out, then taking everything back into the house. You know the story. I'm usually so sore the day after a gig all I can do is take it easy the entire day.

My main goal is simplifying and most importantly lightening up the weight and volume of stuff I take to a gig.

I tried using a Roland Cube 80XL with an ABY switch. This allowed me to play 6 string and steel through one amp. I've been using this setup for 3-4 years and was for the most part happy with it.

But the setup is complicated using a shared pedal board. It's a lot of pressing switches to go from steel to Tele. I'm just not getting the sound I want from either one.

Recently I acquired a Carvin BX500 that I run into a Tommy Huff Cab with a Telonics Neo 15. I am absolutely thrilled with the sound I'm getting out of this combination for steel, and it weighs next to nothing.

Now I'm spoiled. I don't want to carry around my 6 string guitar amp anymore. What I would like to try is using something like a Quilter Mini Head (SS) for guitar and the BX500 for steel into the same cab. I could mount the Quilter in the same rack as the BX500 and have a very light road rig.

I've done a little research about using the same speaker with a switch for two different amps. It seems the real issue is using a tube amp and it needing a constant load. Two SS amps should not cause an issue. So how can this be done?

All the switchers I've seen are for 1 input to switch between two amps into one speaker. This is usually meant for a guitarist to switch between a rhythm and a lead amp using one guitar.

Is there anyway to use two different amp heads into one speaker?